Perfect Pancakes

Since 1995 I have been on a quest to make perfect pancakes. Okay, it was a lazy quest. I’d try a ‘perfect’ recipe get disgusted and go right back to Bisquick with my added vanilla. They were fine to me. Kids enjoyed. Warm breakfast, easy to make. But they were never quite right.

I know, ridiculous, right? How the heck was a good basic pancake eluding me? I got nothing. They always did. Flat. Texture wrong. Too floury. Too… Ick.

TJ asked for pancakes recently and I remarked I didn’t have any Bisquick on hand. But it was time to try and fail again (how’s that for a great attitude?!) so I searched online and tried yet again.

And they were AWESOME. Everyone asked we start having these instead.

So, after 17 years I finally give you THE new family pancake recipe.

20120303-103354.jpg

  • 1 ¼ cups buttermilk Trust me on this one… use buttermilk. Just make if you need to! It’s EASY.
  • ¼ cup melted butter (original recipe called for oil)
  • ¼ cup sugar
  • egg
  • 1  ¼ cup flour
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda

Directions:

  1. Preheat a skillet over medium heat.
  2. Put all ingredients in a blender and combine until smooth. — I just mix them together in a bowl, works fine. Less clean up.
  3. Pour the batter by 1/4 cup into the hot pan, forming 5-inch circles.
  4. When the edges appear to harden, flip the pancakes (they should be light brown.).

PS You don’t need or want that butter on top but it made for a more pancakey type pic. Yeh, I’m a sucker for a pic done right.

