Happy Mardi Gras, ya’ll!

Tori was till up at Lake Martin with her friend so the boys and I loaded up this morning and picked up e before heading into Mobile. The boys were pretty worn out from our big adventures yesterday but we all really wanted to check out the tall ship in port for Mardi Gras. We decided to play it by ear for parades and such since the weather was sorta iffy.

I was sorta (okay a LOT) grumpy on the way and this vehicle just annoyed the beejuzus out of me. No, I don’t want to follow your lame feed on Twitter. I don’t even want to follow you on the road! So, we were amused to park right by it downtown. I can’t escape these Spring Breakers. So… I had TJ snap a picture.

Photobucket

The boys were more than a bit unsure about the safety of walking on the railroad track, but eventually gave in to the novelty. And saved my frayed nerves from worrying about them falling into oncoming traffic as we hoofed it to the ship.

Photobucket

Photobucket

The Twelve Tribes : Peacemaker Ship

Photobucket

In the words of e… “Eh, seems vaguely cult-ish.” We declined the koolaid to be safe.

*Small digression: did you see this story? I about spit out my coffee when it popped up on my screen. It was kinda funny. Sick. But funny.

Okay, back to Mardi Gras Adventures in Mobile and the tour of the ship…

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Love his smile here.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

By now the boys were HUNGRY. So we headed over to Rollin’s Downtown Deli. Two thumbs up from all. YUM.

Some graffiti that caught TJ’s eye on the way to lunch.

Photobucket

Then we headed back towards the van. And stopped to catch a couple of parades on the way. Mardi Gras, for me, is all about the people watching. And it’s a PRIMO people watching experience. Trust me on that one.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Wish I had a shot from the front… a couch on a trailer being pulled by a golf cart. The couch had seat belts installed for the kids. Safety first.

Photobucket

Here come the floats!

Photobucket

Photobucket

And the booties…

Photobucket

The guys on this float started having a bead war and totally slapping each other with packs of beads. It was brutal. They were most likely too drunk to feel it. Well, right then. Wednesday morning is whole ‘nother deal!

Photobucket

Photobucket

Someone stop me from taking pictures BEFORE I hit this stage. K?

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Mardi Gras Secret Police…

Photobucket

And the MOST enthusiastic Krewe Member of the afternoon… Laissez les bon temps rouler!

Photobucket

We had an ice cream treat from Old Dutch Ice Cream Shoppe (My Pop took me there when I was a kid) before heading back to the Eastern Shore. A bowl of red beans and rice rounded off our Fat Tuesday.

Now… I need sleep. Lots of sleep!!!!


Leave a Reply

