Carnival in the Kitchen

I got up early Saturday and headed out with e to New Orleans for the 57th Annual Louisiana Foodservice EXPO. It was a work/play kind of weekend for him and I was invited to tag along. I needed a weekend away, truth be told. Did my soul some good.

Anyway…

The Expo was pretty nifty with lots and lots and lots of food…

And gators.

Well, we were in Louisiana?

Photobucket

Photobucket

 

There were also cheerleaders. Yeh, being the good man he is… e took a hit for the team and got an autographed photo for his 18 year old boy off at boot camp. Yeh… it was PURELY altruistic. 😉

Photobucket

 

When we wandered over to catch part of the Great American Seafood Cookoff it was somewhat of a surprise to find Jeff Corwin as the host this year. I used to love watching his Animal Planet show with the kids. Chef Wesley True was one of the finalists from Mobile in the contest. He also happens to be a customer of e’s. Interesting to have the chef explain his dish to us once completed.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

After the show we donned our white and headed out for White Linen Night on Julia Street. Imagine the looks on everyone’s faces when some Guerilla Artists (my new favorite term of the day) showed up in full body paint. Many girls sans tops. Well, come on, it IS New Orleans… would you expect any less?

e was informed by one of the artists that he would be assisting for the photo shoot. I smiled and informed her he could help on one condition…

…thus the pic below. *And since I keep the site G-rated, I covered her up a bit.

Photobucket

Group shots… see e did have a job as per the topless artist.

Photobucket

Photobucket

While the art was the brain child of someone else… it turns out Tim Reid (AKA Venus Flytrap from WKRP in Cincinnati) was involved in this project somehow as well. He is currently filming a reality TV show about art. How’s that for a random run in of the day?

Photobucket

After the surreal topless guerilla art experience, we got back to the business of strolling about and checking out art, music and food.

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

On of my fav light dishes: half an avacado topped with snow crab and a light citrusy dressing. YUMMY.

One of Lin Emery’s wind-activated sculptures. Reminded me of two certain little boys that love to make paper airplanes on hot Summer days.

Photobucket

e and me at a gallery. Those under eye shadows are cruel!! I wasn’t THAT tired, darnit!

Photobucket

Finally we had a late night dinner at The Jazz Bistro at Arnaud’s complete with table side prepared Bananas Foster.

We wandered around the museum upstairs for a bit. This place could easily be featured in a horror movie… dark, old creeky floor, mannequins, blind corners…

But I loved it!

Photobucket

After such a loooooong day, I was done in. Skipped clubbing (HA! they very idea made me giggle a bit) and called it a night.

2 thoughts on “Carnival in the Kitchen”

  1. As e always says in response to someone saying : “I deserve to have _______” — I don’t want what I deserve. 😉 But yes, had a great time. Have a few misc pics from Sunday to post still. Great to talk to you the other day!!!

Leave a Reply

